BEYOND

MIX INTERIORS Magazine

http://www.mixinteriors.com/

Still researching colour I went to the library to find the latest Mix Magazine to see if I could find any inspiration or suggestions of colour in there. The current issue of mix includes exciting new trends for Autumn Winter 2018/19.

I had previously seen a few trends in Elle Decoration and on WGSN but nothing that really related to what I wanted to explore.

I came across this exciting trend in Mix called beyond which I found to be really intriguing. This trend is about recapturing sensory experiences. Encouraging appreciation and awareness of the objects that surround us and making us consider tactility through senses. Beyond challenges the current digital dominance by embracing touch, sound, sight and taste.

Tactile materials are key in my work and having already research unconventional materials that I want to use I feel this trend is perfect for informing my ideas. My aim is to create surfaces that are designed to be touched.

Some key phrases and words I picked up on from this trend include:

  • Rejecting thought for feeling
  • Powder coatings, wood often bleached, raw and unrefined, rough and polished surfaces
  • Ceramics mimic texture and visual representations of natural materials
  • Fabrics are breathable and sensorial – silicone, scent treated materials, chunky yarns and plays on matt and sheen
  • Instinctive and sensorial
  • Liquid and Solid – Materials that play with perception
  • Our diminishing senses are re-ignited through enhanced sensory environments as a way of reconnecting with our primal selves.

Colour is a powerful tool for creating sensory products’ – predominantly pale and pastel shades – The palette includes powdered peach, sherbet lemon, metallic blue, pale peppermint, sugared violet. Neon coral, glowing Jaffa orange and finally a rich kohl brown.

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 11.38.20.png

I would like to use this palette but also add some of my own colours which I have found prior to this, which are suitable for Autumn/Winter 2018. I think the combination of soft, gentle neutral shades with energetic and neon colours will really help to express the playfulness throughout my experiments. I think the proportion of colour is something I will need to think about also, depending on what I am trying to communicate.

 

Leave a Reply

