Market Research

I have been thinking about sustainability and how this brief would be a great opportunity to express ideas for a healthier environment. I think it would be a great way of getting people to think about where their products come from. picture1

Ikea

Ikea is somewhere I regularly look for ideas about interior products and what is currently on the market. I found these fun and quirky products with small, simple, vegetable motifs on that are easily relatable to kitchen textiles. These are all aspects I would like to keep in mind when designing for George home as they are not only aesthetically pleasing, but also I think they work well in the area I am focusing.

The Scandinavian company also use cotton which is either recycled, or grown with less water, less fertilizers and less pesticides.

Debenhams

I came across these cactus prints from the Ben de Lisi range on the Debenhams website. After reading a little but more about him and the work he does I found this quote which I think sums up these particular designs. “It has a sense of fun and makes people smile”.

I think the co-ordinating pattern works well within the tea towel collection. I also really like how they have combined the 2 co-ordinating prints within the one product, one that is more detailed and consists of various colours and the other more simplistic with only two colours. This works well and is something I would like to explore with my designs.

Not On the High-street

These colourful, humorous and functional chopping boards were designed by Alessandra Baldereschi. I came across them on http://www.notonthehighstreet.com where I was instantly intrigued. When researching the word root from the theme given I had initial ideas of using wood, but was unsure on where to go with it. Finding out these are made of birch wood has made me rethink about how I could incorporate wood into my design. This would also tie in well with my ideas of nature, growth and sustainability.

Leave a Reply

