London Design Festival

http://coolhunting.com/design/london-design-festival-2015-jesmonite

Pinch

http://pinchdesign.com

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 13.26.59.png

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 13.27.18.png

Ariane Prin

http://www.prin.in

Ariane Prin is a French product designer based in London. She launched RUST, the studio’s first homeware collection during the London Design Festival 2015. She was initially inspired by waste, combining jesmonite with powder from cut metal to create this collection of bowls, vases, trays and much more.

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 13.28.24.png

“We throw away so much stuff—for me, these are discarded treasures. I’m not saying that the pieces I make won’t end up in the bin one day, but if my products can inspire people to reconsider their approach towards waste, then that’s already one step forward.”

I really like the idea of using waste materials to produce new designs. I think the metal powder waste has created a rather striking set of colours, which naturally complement each other.

The work of Ariane Prin has inspired me to think about using waste materials to create new designs rather than my initial thoughts of using specific waste objects.

I love the fact that every piece of this homeware collection has unique colours, mark and textures.

“I am the kind of person who can’t throw anything away, believing that it will be of some use later on.”

 

Leave a Reply

