Jo Nagasaka

http://www.dezeen.com/

Jo Nagaska is a Designer from Tokyo. I came across his work on the Dezeen website and I was intrigued to find out more. Initially what stood out for me was the use of bright colours integrated with the natural marks of the grain in the wood. Having been working a lot with wood myself I was excited to find out some more about how he creates these beautiful pieces.

He begins by peeling away parts of the wood to reveal the underneath grains. He then coats the wood with bright coloured resin. The resin ‘transforms the uneven texture of the wood into a smooth and practical surface’.

I have fallen in love with these coffee table designs and it has given me some ideas of how I could move my designs forward. Jo Nagaska has made me think about the possibilities of incorporating resin with the wooden blocks I made. Having made lots of different material samples I feel that the next step forward for me is to combine some of them to see what I can create.

Leave a Reply

